{
  "schema_version": "1.4",
  "last_updated": "2026-09-02",
  "source": "https://balconysolarhub.co.uk/developers/",
  "license": {
    "name": "CC BY 4.0",
    "url": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
    "attribution": "BalconySolarHub (balconysolarhub.co.uk)"
  },
  "disclaimer": "Informational, not legal advice. Verify with the legislation, the Energy Networks Association and your own Distribution Network Operator before relying on any value here.",
  "coverage": {
    "geography": "Great Britain (England, Wales, Scotland)",
    "northern_ireland": {
      "in_scope": false,
      "note": "Northern Ireland is deliberately out of scope for the DNO section. It does not appear in the Energy Networks Association distribution licence area table, and regulation 3 of SI 2026/848 does not extend to Northern Ireland. Regulations 1 and 2 of that instrument do."
    }
  },
  "legislation": {
    "si_number": "2026 No. 848",
    "title": "The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 and Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002 (Amendment) Regulations 2026",
    "made_date": "2026-07-16",
    "laid_before_parliament": "2026-07-17",
    "in_force_date": "2026-08-27",
    "signed_by": "Martin McCluskey, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Energy Security and Net Zero",
    "enabling_powers": [
      "Electricity Act 1989, section 29",
      "Consumer Protection Act 1987, section 11"
    ],
    "extent": {
      "regulations_1_and_2": [
        "England and Wales",
        "Scotland",
        "Northern Ireland"
      ],
      "regulation_3": [
        "England and Wales",
        "Scotland"
      ],
      "note": "The extent is not uniform. Regulation 3, which amends the Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002, does not extend to Northern Ireland."
    },
    "what_it_permits": "Regulation 2 allows a notified body to approve a type of standard plug for use with a plug-in microgenerator even though it does not conform to BS 1363, where the only non-conformity is that BS 1363 prohibits or restricts using a plug to connect an electricity-generating device to a socket-outlet. Regulation 3 provides that a plug-in microgenerator must comply with the Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification.",
    "wattage_cap_w": 800,
    "wattage_cap_basis": "maximum rated alternating current output",
    "plug_in_microgenerator_definition": {
      "quote_source": "SI 2026/848, regulation 2(3) and regulation 3(2)",
      "conditions": [
        "generates electricity from the direct conversion of sunlight into electricity",
        "has a maximum rated alternating current output not exceeding 800 watts",
        "is intended for connection to a low voltage consumer's installation by means of a standard plug and socket",
        "is designed to operate in parallel with a distributor's network",
        "is not designed to import electrical energy from a low voltage consumer's installation for the purpose of storing energy for later supply, other than for control or auxiliary functions permitted by the Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification"
      ]
    },
    "battery_storage_excluded": {
      "value": true,
      "note": "Condition (e) of the statutory definition excludes devices designed to import electricity in order to store it for later supply. A plug-in system with a battery that charges from the household supply is therefore not a plug-in microgenerator under this instrument."
    },
    "product_specification": {
      "name": "Plug-in Solar Device Interim Product Specification",
      "version": "2",
      "published": "2026-07-16",
      "publisher": "Secretary of State",
      "url": "https://www.gov.uk/government/consultations/plug-in-solar"
    },
    "addresses_dno_notification": {
      "value": false,
      "note": "SI 2026/848 does not mention DNO notification or Engineering Recommendation G98. Notification is a separate framework administered through the Energy Networks Association. The two should not be conflated."
    },
    "source_url": "https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2026/848/made",
    "last_verified": "2026-08-01"
  },
  "technical_limits": {
    "note": "Two different caps apply and they are often confused. 800 W is the product cap set by SI 2026/848 for something to count as a plug-in microgenerator. 3.68 kW per phase is the connection-process cap for Engineering Recommendation G98. They serve different purposes.",
    "legal_product_cap_w": {
      "value": 800,
      "applies_to": "whether a device is a plug-in microgenerator under SI 2026/848",
      "source_url": "https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2026/848/made"
    },
    "g98_limit_amps_per_phase": {
      "value": 16,
      "applies_to": "eligibility for the G98 connection process",
      "source_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/"
    },
    "g98_single_phase_kw": {
      "value": 3.68,
      "source_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/"
    },
    "g98_three_phase_kw": {
      "value": 11.04,
      "source_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/"
    },
    "notification_legal_basis": {
      "value": "Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002",
      "quote": "This is an obligation under the Electricity, Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002",
      "source_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/"
    },
    "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
    "form_multiple_premises": "G98 Form A",
    "national_submission_route": {
      "name": "ENA Connect Direct",
      "url": "https://connect-direct.energynetworks.org",
      "http_status_checked": 200,
      "last_verified": "2026-08-01"
    },
    "bs7671_amendment": null,
    "bs7671_amendment_note": "not verified - BS 7671 is a paid standard and we have no primary access",
    "mpan_required": null,
    "mpan_required_note": "not verified - no primary source states this explicitly"
  },
  "dno_notification": {
    "headline_finding": "The 28-day notification deadline is not set by individual network operators. It is a national requirement in EREC G98 section 1.1, made under regulation 22(2)(c) of the Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002 and the Health and Safety Executive's certificate of exemption of August 2008. EREC G98 places the duty to notify on the installer. SI 2026/848, which makes plug-in solar lawful from 27 August 2026, does not mention EREC G98, DNO notification, or any connection procedure. UK Power Networks, the largest operator by licence area, states on both its installer portal and its consumer guidance that only installers can notify it on behalf of customers. Five of the six operators are consistent with the national 28 days; SP Energy Networks publishes 30 days for its commissioning confirmation form and separately asks for notice before or at commissioning. This is a factual record of what each source states, not legal advice.",
    "dno_group_count": 6,
    "licence_area_count": 14,
    "licence_area_source": "https://www.energynetworks.org/operating-the-networks/whos-my-network-operator",
    "dnos": [
      {
        "dno_name": "UK Power Networks",
        "dno_short": "UKPN",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 10,
            "region": "Eastern England"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 12,
            "region": "London"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 19,
            "region": "South Eastern England"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "Eastern England",
          "London",
          "South Eastern England"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/smart-connect",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 28,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "all you need to do is notify us within 28 days of the installation",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/smart-connect",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/smart-connect",
        "notification_deadline_context": "Stated on the Smart Connect installer portal, which covers low carbon technology installations at a house or small business up to 69 kVA. It is not a G98-specific page and it is not open to the public.",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": false,
        "notification_route_note": "Stated on two separate pages of the operator's own site, one aimed at installers and one aimed at consumers. Both read on 2026-08-01.",
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": null,
        "notification_route_evidence": [
          {
            "url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/smart-connect",
            "page_type": "installer portal",
            "quote": "Only approved installers can use Smart Connect on behalf of customers",
            "checked": "2026-08-01"
          },
          {
            "url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/low-carbon-technology-domestic/solar-and-storage-cost-time-and-whats-involved",
            "page_type": "consumer guidance",
            "quote": "Only installers can notify us on behalf of customers",
            "secondary_quote": "Since you won't be able to do the installation work yourself, the first thing you need to do is choose an installer who will handle everything for you",
            "checked": "2026-08-01"
          }
        ],
        "notification_deadline_secondary_quote": "all they need to do is simply notify us of the installation within 28 days",
        "notification_deadline_secondary_url": "https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/low-carbon-technology-domestic/solar-and-storage-cost-time-and-whats-involved"
      },
      {
        "dno_name": "National Grid Electricity Distribution",
        "dno_short": "NGED",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 11,
            "region": "East Midlands"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 14,
            "region": "West Midlands"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 21,
            "region": "Southern Wales"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 22,
            "region": "South Western England"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "East Midlands",
          "West Midlands",
          "Southern Wales",
          "South Western England"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://connections.nationalgrid.co.uk/get-connected/solar-and-wind/micro-generation-single-g98",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 28,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "You must notify us of the generation installation within 28 days of commissioning",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://connections.nationalgrid.co.uk/get-connected/solar-and-wind/micro-generation-single-g98",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://connections.nationalgrid.co.uk/get-connected/solar-and-wind/micro-generation-single-g98",
        "notification_deadline_context": "Stated twice on the operator's own G98 single-premises notification page, which offers an online notification form.",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": null,
        "notification_route_note": "The online form asks for installer and customer contact information. Whether it can be completed without an installer is not stated.",
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": false
      },
      {
        "dno_name": "SP Energy Networks",
        "dno_short": "SPEN",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 13,
            "region": "Cheshire, Merseyside and Northern Wales"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 18,
            "region": "Southern Scotland"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "Cheshire, Merseyside and Northern Wales",
          "Southern Scotland"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://www.spenergynetworks.co.uk/pages/single_g98_generator_connections.aspx",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 30,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "The installation commissioning confirmation must be completed and submitted to us within 30 days of commissioning",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://www.spenergynetworks.co.uk/pages/single_g98_generator_connections.aspx",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://www.spenergynetworks.co.uk/pages/single_g98_generator_connections.aspx",
        "notification_deadline_context": "This 30-day figure is for the commissioning confirmation form and is not the same obligation as the national 28-day notification. SP Energy Networks separately requires the proposal to be notified before or at the time of commissioning.",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": null,
        "notification_route_note": null,
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": true,
        "inform_before_commissioning_quote": "you must inform us of the proposal before or at the time of commissioning",
        "differs_from_national_rule": true,
        "differs_from_national_rule_note": "The operator publishes 30 days where EREC G98 s.1.1 sets 28. Both figures are recorded as published. We do not resolve the discrepancy."
      },
      {
        "dno_name": "Northern Powergrid",
        "dno_short": "NPg",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 15,
            "region": "North Eastern England"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 23,
            "region": "Yorkshire"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "North Eastern England",
          "Yorkshire"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://www.northernpowergrid.com/connections-and-services/electric-vehicles-solar-and-heat-pumps/solar-panels-generation-battery-storage/small-scale-generation",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 28,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "your installer will need to notify Northern Powergrid within 28 days of connecting the equipment under the G98 procedure",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://www.northernpowergrid.com/micro-generation",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://www.northernpowergrid.com/micro-generation",
        "notification_deadline_context": "Stated on the operator's own micro-generation page. The operator also publishes \"Form A3-2 must be sent to the DNO within 28 days of commissioning\".",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": null,
        "notification_route_note": null,
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": null,
        "notification_deadline_secondary_quote": "Form A3-2 must be sent to the DNO within 28 days of commissioning",
        "verification_note": "The operator's pages time out on automated fetch. These quotes were read and verified on 2026-08-01 by a second reviewer working from northernpowergrid.com in a browser, not by automated retrieval. Recorded here so the provenance is visible rather than implied.",
        "form_reference_discrepancy": {
          "operator_page_references": "Form A3-2",
          "operator_forms_page_publishes": "G98 Form B - Notification of microgeneration installations at a single premises",
          "operator_forms_page_url": "https://www.northernpowergrid.com/connections-and-services/connections-application-forms",
          "observation": "Form A3-2 is listed by other operators among their G99 forms, for example SSEN publishes it as the G99 ENA Fast Track Commissioning Form A3-2. Northern Powergrid separately publishes G98 Form B for single-premises microgeneration.",
          "resolved": false,
          "note": "Both references are recorded as published. We do not assert which form a single-premises plug-in installation requires here, and we have not harmonised the reference to Form B for the sake of consistency."
        }
      },
      {
        "dno_name": "Electricity North West",
        "dno_short": "ENWL",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 16,
            "region": "North Western England"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "North Western England"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 28,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "Engineering Recommendation G98 Form B is submitted to the DNO when a compliant micro-generator is installed within 28 days of commissioning",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation-and-storage/micro-generation-and-storage-connections/",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://www.enwl.co.uk/globalassets/get-connected/apply-for-a-new-connection/generation/micro-generation/guide-98_form-b-completion.pdf",
        "notification_deadline_context": "Stated in the operator's own Form B completion guide rather than on the HTML connections page. The same guide states the form is completed by the installer.",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": null,
        "notification_route_note": "Form B is returned by email to G98notifications@enwl.co.uk.",
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": null
      },
      {
        "dno_name": "Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks",
        "dno_short": "SSEN",
        "licence_areas": [
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 17,
            "region": "Northern Scotland"
          },
          {
            "mpan_distributor_id": 20,
            "region": "Southern England"
          }
        ],
        "regions_covered": [
          "Northern Scotland",
          "Southern England"
        ],
        "g98_notify_url": "https://www.ssen.co.uk/our-services/new-supplies/generation-connections/micro-generation-connections/g98g99-generator-requirement-documents/",
        "g98_notify_url_http_status": 200,
        "g98_notify_url_checked": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_type": "post-install notification, not approval (single premises)",
        "notification_deadline_days": 28,
        "notification_deadline_quote": "Customer/Installer must notify SSEN of the connection within 28 days from the date of commissioning",
        "fee": null,
        "fee_note": "not verified - no operator page consulted states a fee for a single-premises G98 notification, and we do not infer that it is free",
        "single_phase_limit_kw": 3.68,
        "single_phase_limit_amps": 16,
        "form_single_premises": "G98 Form B",
        "source_url": "https://www.ssen.co.uk/our-services/new-supplies/generation-connections/micro-generation-connections/g98g99-generator-requirement-documents/",
        "last_verified": "2026-08-01",
        "notification_deadline_source": "stated on the operator's own page",
        "notification_deadline_url": "https://www.ssen.co.uk/globalassets/what-is-a-mpan/mpan-process-for-microgen-customers.pdf",
        "notification_deadline_context": "Stated in the operator's own MPAN process document REF-PS-066 Rev 2.0 (2025) rather than on the G98 documents page. The same document states there is no requirement to contact SSEN prior to installation.",
        "notification_route_open_to_householder": null,
        "notification_route_note": "The operator's document addresses \"Customer/Installer\". That identifies who completes the form; it does not state that a customer may notify without an installer. Recorded as unknown rather than read as permission.",
        "inform_before_commissioning_required": false
      }
    ],
    "national_rule": {
      "deadline_days": 28,
      "inclusive_of_commissioning_day": true,
      "quote": "the Installer is required to ensure that the DNO is made aware of the Micro-generator installation before the time of commissioning or no later than 28 days (inclusive of the day of commissioning) after commissioning",
      "source_document": "ENA Engineering Recommendation G98, section 1.1 (restated at 8.3.1)",
      "source_url": "https://www.energynetworks.org/assets/images/Publications/2024/240522%20erec-g98-557469.pdf",
      "legal_basis": "Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002 Regulation 22(2)(c), and the Certificate of Exemption granted by the Health and Safety Executive in August 2008",
      "is_legal_requirement": true,
      "duty_holder": "the installer",
      "duty_holder_quote": "Your installer must notify the DNO within 28 days of commissioning the generating unit, and provide them with information on the installation. This is a legal requirement.",
      "duty_holder_source": "ENA Distributed Generation Connection Guide: G98 for Single Premises",
      "duty_holder_source_url": "https://www.energynetworks.org/assets/images/Resource%20library/G98%20Single%20Premises.pdf",
      "form": "G98 Form B, the Installation Document at Appendix 3 of EREC G98",
      "applies_to_diy_householder": null,
      "applies_to_diy_householder_note": "EREC G98 places the duty on the installer, and still does. No primary source consulted stated what a householder who installs a plug-in device without an installer must do until the Energy Networks Association published a registration portal at https://myplugin.solar/ , read 2026-09-02, whose FAQ states that registering the device there sends the notification to the DNO, and that registration is a legal requirement. That claim is the portal's own; its Terms of Use cite 'the regulations relating to these devices' without naming them. This field stays null because EREC G98 itself is unchanged: it names the installer, not the householder.",
      "not_referenced_by_si_2026_848": true,
      "not_referenced_by_si_2026_848_note": "The full text of SI 2026/848 was read on 2026-08-01. It amends product safety requirements and does not mention EREC G98, DNO notification, or any connection procedure. The notification framework is separate from the legalisation.",
      "last_verified": "2026-08-01"
    },
    "deadline_uniformity": "uniform at 28 days nationally, with SP Energy Networks publishing 30 days for its commissioning confirmation form",
    "headline_finding_note": "This field reports what primary sources say. It deliberately draws no conclusion about what a householder installing a plug-in device without an installer is required to do; see national_rule.applies_to_diy_householder, which is null.",
    "is_legal_advice": false,
    "route_open_to_householder_summary": {
      "false": [
        "UKPN"
      ],
      "true": [],
      "null": [
        "NGED",
        "SPEN",
        "NPg",
        "ENWL",
        "SSEN"
      ],
      "note": "false is recorded only where the operator states it on its own pages. Everything else is null because the operator does not address the question."
    }
  }
}
